Tuesday, June 14, 2011

Someone Like You

New addiction of the moment. Love Adele!

Saturday, December 18, 2010

Dear Mr. Clinton...

...I believe an apology is forthcoming and owed to all of the men and women who have served our country and were dismissed for being gay or lesbian. Not only has this cost our country billions, it has set civil rights back 50 years. So 17 years later, the politics has finally caught up with public sentiment, rationality, justice, and equality. I for one am ecstatic that the Senate has voted to repeal this dumb law. It is definitely a historic day in a long fight to be validated as equals among other members of the armed services. Now, next step...Prop 8.

Wednesday, October 13, 2010

Thank You Councilman Burns!

It saddens me to continuously read about teens who have taken their lives because of the emotional and physical abuse delivered at the hands of bigots who can't even drive. Being in high school is tough enough. Being outside the popular circle is even tougher. Being gay doesn't lighten that load. I've been fortunate and thankful to have incredibly supportive friends, and I hope that everyone who has been keeping up with the news sees this message by Councilman Joel Burns. I hope everyone who is in this situation sees this and holds on to the hope and the light in his message.

Friday, August 6, 2010

Oh California!

Okay, so finally California, or the justice system has come to their senses about marriage. All religious and whatever other arguments aside, it should not be a matter of what is considered "correct" or "normal" or "standard." (I mean who are we to say what's normal and what's not??) It's a matter of a persons' right to chose how they want to live their lives, and who they want to marry otherwise we would be back to arranged marriages. I know I will probably get a lot of flack about saying this, but this is the honest truth I feel regarding this matter. It may offend some people because of their religious affiliations or they way the were raised, or their perceived family dynamic. But hey, it offends me when people don't squeeze their toothpaste from the bottom of the tube. Okay maybe not to that extent, but it bugs me nonetheless. We are a country based on the idea of freedom and liberty that extends to our life, liberty, and property per the Fourteenth Amendment. We allow people so many freedoms that have some often lead to riots or racial slurs or extremist ideals. But they are allowed and protected under our Constitution. So how is it not a liberty to allow someone to chose who they want to have a relationship with? To honour, cherish, and love? To spend the rest of their lives with? How does that just suddenly get tossed out the window? Anyway, it's time to move away from that narrow point of view, from allowing emotions hinder logic, from stupidity and ignorance from barring equal rights. So cheers to the recent California Court decision. I say it's about time.

Section 1. All persons born or naturalized in the United States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the United States and of the State wherein they reside. No State shall make or enforce any law which shall abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of the United States; nor shall any State deprive any person of life, liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws.

Wednesday, July 28, 2010

random thoughts II

oi too many red bulls today. it's starting to look a lot like college again.

this class is almost over which means my thesis will have to be written soon which means i have to graduate soon which means i need to find a real job.

grading next week. don't know if i'm going to do it this time, but if i don't i may end up missing the next one because of china.

photos are getting better. my skill set is slowly starting to improve and expand.

have to remember to guard my centerline.

we need another lab assistant at work. anyone interested??

"try not. do or do not."

"stop trying to hit me and hit me."

"try again. fail again. fail better.

Friday, July 2, 2010

world cup madness

okay, i've always liked soccer even though i've never played. passive interest turned into a following after the 1999 women's world cup finals in pasadena. crazy stuff. this time 'round the world cup has definitely got my heart pumping and my hands shaking. i'm trying to contain my excitement so as to not freak out all the pretty people in peets right now over the uruguay win. and seriously, what a game! you have to have respect for these players running around on a field for 90 minutes, then 30 minutes overtime, and then penalty shots. this may be a bad indication for the argentina/germany game tomorrow. i may just have heart attack at work. but that's okay since i work at a hospital so they can draw my blood right there in the lab if they have to. haha. well tomorrow, i win either way. it will definitely be a show down with all of the trash talk that's been going on and all the bad blood. what fun! and people say soccer is boring. psssh!

Saturday, June 26, 2010

random thoughts

So sad the US team lost today. Good run, boys. Better luck next time.

Excited for the Germany/England game and the Argentina/Mexico game. Lots of alcohol will be consumed over the course of two back to back games.

Excited about getting Glee swag from a friend.

Training was very good today and I wasn't even on the mat for half of it. Learned to use the center, push forward the energy, and be confident.

Know what your goal is and take steps to get there. It doesn't matter if you make mistakes, you just have to adjust.

Fake it 'til you make it. You don't have to have perfect skill to have confidence.

Tried the Chimay white...I like it!

I can't find my Germany jersey!!!!